Summit League announces All-League Indoor track & field honors

Fifteen Bison women and twelve Bison men earn honors

The Summit League announced their all-league selections for the indoor season and the North Dakota State University track & field teams had 15 women and 12 men win all-league honors.

Leading the pack for the women are NDSU’s Kelby Anderson and Amy Phillips. Anderson, the senior from Bismarck, N.D., was named the Championship’s Track MVP at the just-completed Summit League Indoor Championships after winning the 3000m and placing second in the mile and 5000m.

Meanwhile, Phillips, a senior from Henley-on-Thames, England, successfully defended her title in the weight throw. Phillips’ toss of 65-02.00 (19.86m) won her the Summit League crown for a second-straight year.

Other honorees and their event(s) for the Bison:

Amanda Anderson (shot put)
Grace Benner (4x400m relay)
Kaci Cooper (distance medley relay)
Grace Emineth (long jump)
Nell Graham (400m, 4x400m relay)
Claire Howell (4x400m relay)
Grace Link (distance medley relay)
Jodi Lipp (triple jump)
Alissa Melvin (triple jump)
Daejha Moss (high jump)
Allie Niska (distance medley relay)
Angel Pratt (4x400m relay)
Allie Wahlund (distance medley relay)

Meanwhile, the men’s team placed 15 student-athletes on the all-league list. Leading the pack for the men was thrower Trevor Otterdahl and long jumper Brandon Lewis.

Otterdahl, a senior from Rosemount, Minn., won the weight throw and finished second to NDSU’s Kristoffer Thomsen in the shot put. For that performance, Otterdahl was named the Championship’s MVP for field events.

Lewis, a junior from Bismarck, successfully defended his long jump title from a year ago. He won with a mark of 24-02.25 (7.37m) bringing him the Summit League crown for a second-straight year.

The following student-athletes and their event(s) earned Summit League honors as well:

Trent Davis (60m hurdles, distance medley relay)
Keiser Freetly (distance medley relay)
Adrian Harris (4x400m relay)
Josh Knutson (400m, 4x400m relay)
Cody Roder (400m, 4x400m relay)
Jacob Rodin (800m, 4x400m relay)
Josh Samyn (distance medley relay)
Kristoffer Thomsen (shot put)
Jackson Tracy (distance medley relay)
Eric VanErp (heptathlon)

To receive the All-League distinction, a student-athlete must finish in the top three of an event at the league championship meet.

Both men’s and women’s teams will take a break from their competitive schedule. On March 24, both teams will head to Raleigh, N.C., to open the outdoor season. They will be participating in the Raleigh Relays on the campus of North Carolina State University in Raleigh.

Leave a Reply