Bison Roundup


North Dakota State 125-pounder senior Josh Rodriguez won his fourth Bison Open individual championship at the 46th annual event at the Scheels Arena on Saturday.

Rodriguez won Bison Open 125 titles in 2013 unattached, 2015 and 2016. Rodriguez won a title in 2013 as 133. Rodriguez went 3-0 at the Bison Open and went 4-0 overall with a pin over teammate and unattached Paul Bianchi at 4:56.

NDSU had five wrestlers, 149 Kyle Gliva, 165 Andrew Fogarty, 184 Tyler McNutt, 194 Cordell Eaton and 285 Ben Tynan, who each won Bison Open individual championships for the second straight year.

Women’s Cross-Country

NDSU women’s cross-country team finished in 18th place at the NCAA Midwest Regional Friday. The race was held at University of Iowa’s Ashton Cross-Country Course.

Sophomore Emma Kusch Dahle was the top finisher for the Bison, taking 69th place with a time of 21:34.20, dropping 26 seconds off her personal best time in the 6k. Dahle’s performance puts her in 15th on NDSU’s cross-country all-time bests list.

Senior Taylor Janssen, the only upperclassmen for the Bison, placed 92nd with a time of 21:48.90. This is Janssen’s second fastest 6k of her career.

NDSU sophomore Brittany Brownotter was 94th in 21:51.3, Melina Kuerschner took 98th in 21:54.3 and Kayla Huhnerkoch finished 116th in 22:08.1 to complete the team scoring for NDSU.

Missouri won the women’s team title, and Missouri junior Karissa Schweizer took the individual crown in 19:54.4.

Men’s Cross-Country

NDSU men’s cross-country team finished 19th at the NCAA Midwest Regional Friday.

Junior Cameron Roehl was the top finisher with a time of 32:12.20 to finish 94th. Roehl cut more than a minute of his personal best time for the 10k.

Sophomore Derek Warner crossed the finish line in 110th place with a time of 32.25.30. Senior Matt Jennings, the lone upperclassmen for the Bison, clocked in at 32.30.70 for 117th.

Oklahoma State captured the men’s team title with 64 points. Tulsa senior Luke Traynor won the individual championship in 30:18.5.

Signing Day

On Nov. 9, high school students were able to sign early their letters of intent to declare where they will participate their sport while furthering their education.


Four sports announced signings.

Baseball head coach Tod Brown announced the addition of eight student athletes.

Basketball head coach David Richman announced the addition of three student athletes.

Men’s golf head coach Steve Kennedy announced the addition of Shanley’s Lucas Johnson.

Men’s track and field head coach announced the addition of three student athletes on Wednesday and the addition of Benji Phillips on Thursday to bring the total to four.


Another four sports announced signings.

Basketball head coach Maren Walseth announced the addition of four student athletes.

Track and field head coach Stevie Keller announced six student athletes signed on Wednesday with the addition of three more on Thursday to bring the total to nine.

Golf head coach Matt Johnson announced three student athletes signed on Wednesday.

Softball head coach Darren Mueller announced three student athletes signed on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply