Student Government Fills Final Positions

The North Dakota State student government has filled remaining positions for the current school year.

The senate filled 11 seats that were remaining at the start of the year.

New senators include Grant Gunderson, Asif Arshid, Emma Ewen, Nathaniel Thoreson, Joseph Vollmer, Klarissa Walvatne, Summer Zito, Marisa Pacella, Alex Stangel, Marisa Mathews and Sawyer Heller.

They filled seats to represent off campus students, graduate studies, residence halls, university apartments, AHSS, and the colleges of engineering, agriculture, human development and education and university studies.

Student government consists of a 34-member senate, nine executive offices and numerous court members.

The group controls student fees, which fund Tier I and Tier II student organizations, like NDSU Athletics, Campus Recreation and Intramurals, Campus Attractions and all three Bison Media outlets.

Different members have joined student government for different reasons.

“The biggest reason I joined Student Government is to learn more about how NDSU runs as a whole and also to leave NDSU know that I helped to change it for the better,” College of Art, Humanities, Social Sciences senator Derek Hatzenbuhler said.

“With being a part of student government I am able to know about projects, events, and organizations that I can be a part of or help guide people to them,” College of Human Development and Education senator Nathaniel Corcoran said.

“I think my favorite part so far is getting to know the ins and outs of the way campus runs,” said Hatzenbuhler. “I also love being able to represent individuals from my college as well as being able to meet with individuals who are concerned about changes and policies on campus.”

“Student Government is always willing to help in some way, and it’s an overall energetic atmosphere to be a part of. I want to work on making sure that individuals know who represents them,” Hatzenbuhler said.

Senators welcome students into the office, located on the main floor of the Memorial Union, to talk about concerns or just to chat.

Student government meets at 6:30 p.m. Sunday nights in Memorial Union. Its meetings are open for the public to attend. The dress code for student government meetings is business professional.

Leave a Reply