Matt Entz wins AFCA Coach of The Year

NDSU Head Football Coach Matt Entz, who led the Bison to another National Championship this season, has been named the American Football Coaches Association Coach of The Year for the Football Championship Subdivision.

Coach Entz led this year’s Bison to a 14 – 1 record culminating in the program’s ninth Division I football championship. NDSU defeated Montana State University 38 – 10 in Frisco, Texas on Jan. 8. This is Entz’s second Coach of The Year award having also won in 2019.

Entz also becomes NDSU’s eighth winner in program history. He also joins Craig Bohl and Rocky Hager as the Bison’s only two-time winners. Bohl won in 2012 and 2013 while Hager won in 1988 and 1990. The other two NDSU coaches to capture the award were Earle Simdorn (1986) and Don Morton (1983). This is the program’s eighth award, only one behind the leader Mount Union’s (OH) nine awards.

Leave a Reply