Track and Field Competes in Thundering Herd Classic


The NDSU women’s track and field team got off to a strong start Friday, hosting the Thundering Herd Classic at Shelly Ellig Indoor Track and Field Facility.

Junior Ashley Heinze scored 3,654 points en route to the pentathlon title. The win placed her in the top five NDSU all-time list, and firmly places her in the top 50 in the nation.

NDSU’s Deborah John clocked in at 8.44 seconds to run the fastest 60 meter hurdles time at prelims, while senior Ashley Tingelstad led all 60 meter dash qualifiers with 7.65 seconds.

The open 400 meter dash was led by two Bison women, with Faith Kruchowski and Amy Andrushko coming in first and second.

On Saturday, NDSU thrower Emily Lesser broke the school shot put record with a throw of over 15 meters. Lesser would also go on to win the weight throw.

Senior Caitlin Mack became just the sec­ond Bison women ever to vault over 13 feet, placing second in the pole vaulting competi­tion.

Tingelstad won both the 60 meter dash and the 200 meter dash and ran third best all-time NDSU times in both events.

A strong NDSU showing was capped off by Paige Stratioti, who finished first place in the 400 meter dash with a time of 55.00 seconds.


The men’s team was led Friday by two strong showings from Bison runners. Both Ben Schultz and Matt Jennings took first place in their events, Schultz in the open 600 meter and Jennings in the open 800.

Sophomore Beau Kashmark took first place in the triple-jump and leaped an indoor personal best of 13.37 meters.

Senior Josh Eiler threw a personal best 14.30 meters in the shot put, good enough for third in the event, while Freshman Aron Klos finished second in the open 200 meter with a time of 22.84 seconds.

A Bison record was again broken on Sat­urday when redshirt freshman Alex Renner threw 17.26 meters to win the shot put. The record comes just a week after being broken by sophomore Brandt Berghuis.

Berghuis would go on to win the weight throw and nearly broke that record as well, with a toss of nearly 20 meters. Trevor Ber­ner tossed a personal best for second, fol­lowed by Eiler who came in third.

Senior runner Moses Heppner took first at the 600 meter with a time of 1:21.24 and was followed by redshirt freshman Pres Har­ris.

Three Bison athletes led all competitors in the heptathlon with Grant Mjelstad scor­ing 4,798 point to take first place. Mjelstad was followed by Beau Gagnon and Colin Paarmann, who finished second and third, respectively.

Runners Patrick McKittrick and Alex Neumiller both won their events with McK­ittrick placing first in the 60 meter hurdles and Neumiller taking the 400 meter.

Leave a Reply