Cass County: ballot, candidates and voting

Pexels | Photo Courtesy
Who’s on the ballot in Cass County

How to vote in Cass County

The 2020 U.S. General Election is 46 days away and there will be many government seats on the ballot besides the Trump-Pence and Biden-Harris tickets. Candidates at every level of government–federal, state and local–will have their names on the ballot. 

Besides the President and Vice President, the North Dakota ballot will have elections to fill seats for U.S. House of Representatives, State Senators, State House of Rep., Governor and Lt. Governor, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Insurance Commissioner, Public Service Commissioner, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Justice of the Supreme Court and County Commissioner.

In 2020, 23 of the ND State Senate’s 47 seats are up for election. Currently, the Republican Party controls the State Senate with 37 members compared to 10 Democratic members. In the ND House of Representatives, 47 of the 94 seats are up for election. Of the current House members, there are 79 Republicans and 15 Democrats. 

North Dakota is the only state that does not require voter registration, but there are still some qualifications that need to be met. A qualified voter must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years old (as of Nov. 3, 2020), a North Dakota resident and must have resided in their respective precinct for at least 30 days prior to the election.

If a voter has the required qualifications to vote in North Dakota, they can vote at the polls by showing identification that includes their name, North Dakota residential address and date of birth. Voting may be done in person at designated locations as well as via an absentee ballot. 

“Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Cass County will be offering Early Voting starting October 19. Voters will be able to vote at multiple locations in the Fargo metro area and in Casselton fifteen days prior to Election Day. This is an effort to provide opportunities to cast ballots in person while at the same time offering enough hours to keep people socially distanced as much as possible while exercising their right to vote,” the Cass County Government website states. 

Early voting will begin on Oct. 19-24 from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the following locations:

  • Ramada Inn –  3333 13th Ave S, Fargo
  • Doubletree Inn –  825 E Beaton Dr, West Fargo
  • FargoDome – 1800 N University Dr, Fargo

Early voting will continue from Oct. 26-31 and Nov. 2-3 from 9 a.m.-7 p.m. at previously mentioned locations in addition to the following: 

  • Fargo Civic Center –  207 4th St N, Fargo
  • Hilton Garden Inn –  4351 17th Ave S, Fargo
  • Days Inn – Casselton – 2050 Governor’s Dr

To vote by mail/absentee, go to to find and download the application for an absentee ballot. Cass County voters must send their completed application to the Cass County Finance Office at the following address:

  • Mail: PO BOX 2806, Fargo, ND 58181-2806
  • Secure Dropbox outside the Courthouse: 211 9th Street South Fargo
  • Fax: 701-241-5728

Absentee ballots will become available by Sept. 24 and applications should be done by Friday, Oct. 23 to ensure the postage is stamped before election day on Nov. 3.

Cass County is divided into ten legislative districts, with five of these having elections for State Congress this year. Both the ND State Senate and ND House of Representative members serve 4-year terms and have no term limits. 

District 16, which contains parts of Fargo and West Fargo, has one Senate seat and two House seats up for election. Incumbent Sen. David A. Clemens (R) faces challenger Kari Breker (D). Incumbent Reps. Ben Koppelman (R) and Andrew Marschall (R) face challengers Hamida Dakane (D) and Tracey L. Wilkie (D). 

District 20, which contains the northernmost part of rural Cass County, has three congressional seats up for election. Incumbent Sen. Randy D. Lemm will face challenger Paul R. Hanson (D) in this district. Sen. Lemm replaced the previous seat-holder, Arne Osland, after he resigned on March 18, 2019. 

Mike Beltz (R), Zachary Blotsky (D), Jared Hagert (R) and John Martin Pederson (D) will be challenging for District 20’s House seats that are to be vacated by Rep. Richard G. Holman (D) and Rep. Aaron McWilliams (R) after losing in the primaries. 

District 22, which contains rural Cass County, has three congressional seats up for election. Laetitia Hellerud (D) and Mark Weber (R) will be facing off for a senate seat. Incumbents Rep. Michael Howe (R) and Rep. Brandy L. Pyle (R) will be fending off their seats from challengers Jodi Meisch (D) and Will Thompson (D). 

District 44, which contains northeastern Fargo, has three contested seats this year. Incumbent Sen. Merrill Piepkorn (D) defends against challenger Tim Flakoll (R). Incumbent Rep. Joshua A. Boschee (D) and incumbent Rep. Karla Rose Hanson (D) defend against challenger Scott Wagner (R). 

District 46, which contains southeastern Fargo and part of Stanley Township, has three congressional seats up for election in 2020. Incumbent Sen. Jim Roers (R) defends against challenger Terri Hedman (D). Incumbent Jim Kasper (R) and incumbent Sen. Shannon M. Roers Jones (R) defend against challengers Ben M. Hanson (D) and Ben W. Hanson (D). 

Leave a Reply