Sports Filler Image

Bison Women Win Seventh Straight Indoor Title, Men Take Second


The NDSU women’s track and field team won its seventh straight Summit League Indoor Champion­ships over the weekend in Fort Wayne, Ind.

Maddie McClellan took first in the 3,000m with a time of 9:42.35, which also ranks as the second-fastest time in NDSU history for the event.

Emily Lesser won the weight throw with a mark of 62-08.75, and the team of Taylor Janssen, Amy An­drushko, Jenny Guibert and Erin Teschuk took the dis­tance medley relay.

In the pentathlon, Ash­ley Heinze took third with 3,382 points. Rose Jackson, Lexy Boschee, Ann Govig and Christina Bruenjes took fourth, fifth, sixth and eighth respectively.

Saturday was filled with first place finishes for the women. McClellan won the mile with a personal-best time of 4:49-87 and also won the 5,000m with a time of 17:10.67.

Antoinette Goodman won the 60m with a school and meet record of 7.50 seconds. She also won the 200m with a time of 24.06, becoming the fourth four-time event champion in league history, and posting the second-fastest time on the NDSU all-time list. Ash­ley Tingelstad took second.

Tingelstad then won the 400m with a time of 54.44 seconds, while Paige Strati­oti took second at 54.88 sec­onds and Heinze took third at 56.08 seconds. Stratioti’s and Heinze’s times were also lifetime bests.

Paige Stratioti won the 800m with a time of 2:11.08 and Andrushko took second at 2:13.65.

Morgan Milbrath, Stra­tioti, Andrushko and Tingel­stad defended their 4×400 relay crown with a time of 3:46.97.

Lesser took first in the shot put with a mark of 48- 01.25.

Head coach Ryan God­frey won his seventh straight Summit League Indoor Coach of the Year Award.

McClellan was named the 2014 Summit League Track MVP, and Milbrath won the league’s Newcomer of the Championship award.


The men’s track and field team placed second in the two-day Summit League In­door Championship.

Senior Andy Lillejord took the Summit League long jump title on Friday with a personal-best leap of 24-04.25, putting him in fifth on the NDSU all-time long jump list.

With a three-second margin over South Dakota, the Bison team of Lucas DeGree, Dalton Herding, Matt Jennings and Moses Heppner won the distance medley relay with a time of 10:17.05.

Junior Brett Kelly took second in the 3,000m run, posting a personal-best time of 8:23.41, which also ranks him seventh in NDSU history. Sophomore Brandt Berghuis took sec­ond in the weight throw with a 62-00.50 throw and redshirt freshman Grant Mjelstad took second in the pole vault, clearing a lifetime-best of 16-04.75.

On Saturday, South Dakota defended its team title with 253 points. The Bison placed second with 204 points and South Da­kota State placed third with 95 points.

Junior Beau Gagnon took his first heptathlon title with a personal-best score of 4,799 points after a drop out of two-time defending champion Andy Lillejord.

Sophomore Alex Neu­miller won the 400m dash with a time of 49.74.

Redshirt freshman Alex Renner took home his first All-Summit League honor by placing third in the shot put, breaking his own school record by 14 inches, throw­ing 57-09.50. Berghuis also broke the previous record, placing fourth with a throw mark of 57-04.25.

Kelly ran a personal-best time of 14:40.11 to take second in the 5,000m and placed seventh on the NDSU all-time list. Heppner took second in the 800m, finish­ing with a time of 1:55.05.

Junior Parker McKit­trick took second in the 60m hurdles with a time of 8.14 seconds, and Espeland took second as well in the mile at 4:13.95.

Pres Harris, Espeland, Herding and Neumiller took second in the 4×400 relay with a time of 3:20.41.

Lillejord was named the 2014 Summit League Field MVP.


Leave a Reply