Bison Roundup


North Dakota State faced Central Connecticut State this past weekend in the Snowbird Baseball Classic at the North Charlotte Regional Park.

On Friday, Feb. 23, Riley Johnson pitched the first solo no-hitter of the 2018 college baseball season. Johnson became the first Bison to throw a solo no-hitter since Jay Mitchell in 2004 against Augustana. Chad Berg and Chris Paterson pitched a combined no-hitter in 2008 against Creighton.

Johnson struck out a career-high eight and allowed one walk, improving to 2-0 on the season.

In the bottom of the third, Matt Elsenpeter reached on an error with one out and moved to second on a walk to Alec Abercrombie. Elsenpeter would cross home on a two-out RBI single from Drew Fearing.

In the bottom of the eighth, Elsenpeter worked a bases loaded walk to bring in Jayse McLean.

The victory marked the 250th career win in 11 seasons for head coach Tod Brown.

NDSU would suffer a 9-2 loss Saturday, Feb. 24.

Mitch O’Connor took the loss on the mound after giving up four earned runs on eight hits with two walks and one strikeout in three innings pitched for the Bison.

Tucker Rhode led the Bison at the plate, going 2-for-3 with two RBIs. McLean collected two hits, and Fearing hit is first double of the season.

The Bison took a 1-0 lead in the top of the first after Bennet Hostetler scored on an error, but the Blue Devils would put up four in the bottom of the inning and add five more in the seventh. NDSU would add one in the top of the eighth.

Men’s track and field

NDSU successfully defended their Summit League Indoor Championship, making it three in a row for the Bison men.

The Bison brought home first place in the distance medley relay with the squad of Jakob Hanna, Aron Klos, Byrne Curl and Alex Bartholomay finishing in 10:11.69 — ninth fastest in school history.

Steffan Stroh finished second in the weight throw with a distance of 65-11.50 (20.10m). Jacob McBride finished fourth and moved up to seventh all-time at NDSU with his throw of 63-07.75 (19.40m). Trevor Otterdahl took sixth and ranks 10th in NDSU history at 62-03.75 (18.99m).

Camron Roehl (8:25.69), Elliott Stone (8:26.06) and Jake Leingang (8:26.88) finished third, fourth and fifth, respectively, in the 3,000m for the Bison. Roehl ranks 10th all-time at NDSU in the event.

Brandon Lewis registered a personal-best in the long jump, placing third with a jump of 24-04.50 (7.43m). The jump put him at No. 5 for NDSU all-time.

On the second day, the Bison captured the Summit League Indoor team championship with 179.5 team points.

Stroh won the shot put with a throw of 59-09.75 (18.23m). Michael Keogan took fourth and moved to seventh in NDSU indoor history at 55-10.50 (17.03m). Otterdahl placed sixth and ranks 10th all-time at NDSU with a distance of 55-03.50 (16.85m).

Kelle’Mon Hinton placed third in the triple jump, leaping a personal-best 49-06.50 (15.10m). He now ranks sixth in NDSU indoor history.

Women’s track and field

While the men looked for their third in a row, the Bison women chased after their 11th Summit League Indoor Championship.

On the first day, Piper Jensen won the long jump at 20-00.25 (6.10m), becoming the third woman in NDSU history to top 20 feet indoors.

Courtney Pasiowitz won the Summit League weight throw title, throwing a meet record 65-10.50 (20.08m), good for third in NDSU history. Kelsey Laufenberg was the runner-up in the weight throw, posting a personal-best mark of 64-01.00 (19.53m) that ranks fifth all-time at NDSU.

Jen Dufner, Katie Bye, Katie Bostrom and Kayla Huhnerkoch won the distance medley relay title, finishing with a time of 12:00.62.

Annika Rotvold finished second in the 3,000m, with a personal-best time of 9:38.24, good for fourth all-time at NDSU.

Amanda Levin scored a career-best 3,917 points, finishing runner-up in the pentathlon. She is now ranked third in NDSU history behind only All-Americans Rose Jackson and Whitney Carlson.

On the second day, NSDU finished with 224 points, winning their 11th straight indoor title and 21st straight conference title when including their 10 straight outdoor titles.

Pasiowitz won her second event title of the meet, winning the shot put with a season-best mark of 52-09.50 (16.09m). NDSU swept the top six places in the shot put to score 36 team points. Pasiowitz was followed by Maggie Schwarzkopf, Kelsey Laufenberg, Bailey Retzlaff, Maddy Nilles and Jordyn Thornton.

Alexis Woods claimed first place in the 400m dash, finishing in 54.41 seconds. NDSU swept the top three places with Amanda Levin taking second place in a personal-best 55.84 and Deidre Hahn third in 56.86.

Levin, Hahn, Katie Bye and Woods won the 4x400m relay.

Lauren Gietzen finished second in the pole vault with a personal-best, clearing 13-07.25 (4.15m), tying for second in NDSU indoor history. Daejha Moss finished second in the high jump, clearing 5-06.50 (1.69m).

Pasiowitz was named the Championships Field MVP, and NDSU head coach Stevie Kellerearned was given Coach of the Year honors.

Leave a Reply